Emma

Leave a comment
emma watson / feminism / he for she

emma he for she
” Both men and women should feel free to be sensitive, both men and women should feel free to be strong. It is time that we all perceive gender on a spectrum, not as two opposing sets of ideals ”

So this is beginning to become old news, being talked about everywhere on the internet and discussed widely in my circle of friends, but I just had to get it out on my blog too. – It is such a strong message, and I’ve grown the biggest respect and love towards Watson, for being so brave and skilled. I couldn’t step up in front of a whole crowd, who probably thinks you’re nothing but an actress, thinking you’re a politician. Those were about my mum own words, and I believe my mum’s a feminist in many ways.
Basically, I just think she’s such an idol -such an inspiration for young women. I just don’t get how people like Miley Cyrus, Rihanna ect can be idols to young girls, and boys for that matter, when we have people like Emma Watson, who teach us to speak out and do something. (this isn’t hate by the way, Miley and RiRi are very talented) I just think that girls should see this as the thing to be aiming at, not a hot body or a boyfriend. Ok, it’s ok to want a hot bod’ and a hot piece of eye candy, that’s not what I mean, it’s good to have standards, I just think that maybe we should learn to know what’s more important. It is, after all, a shallow world.

Before Emma I divided feminism into two groups. – The ones who simply believed that women should have the same rights as men – And the man-haters. Let’s face it, I’ve been a little afraid of the word, because I find it wrong to hate men. I find it wrong to let men rule over women too. There’s a fine line between what’s right and what’s wrong. No one should rule over another, and no ones better than the other, Emma talks about that, and Emma knows that that’s kind of what feminism has been turned into. Women who hates men, and that’s far from what it actually is. I’m not afraid to call myself a feminist anymore. I am a feminist, and I believe in equality in every possible way that is. Ofcourse not the the point where there’s no females and no males, there’s always going to be some kind of difference, but it shouldn’t be because of the wrong norms in society, but only because it’s the way it is, naturally. We should all have the opportunity to at least choose if we want to be strong, or we want to be feminine. Wether we want to wear pink or black, shirt and tie, or a skirt. It doesn’t define us as humans, anyway.

– Anna

The Author

I just want to live life and write about it

Leave a Reply

